Roc-A-Fella Records co-founders Jay-Z, Kareem “Biggs” Burke and Dame Dash, photographed backstage during the Hot 97 “Summer” Jam concert at the Meadowlands Arena in East Rutherford, New Jersey by Johnny Nunez on June 25, 1999. Fresh off their appearances on the record-breaking “Hard Knock Life Tour,” that night Roc-A-Fella Records signees Memphis Bleek, Amil and Beanie Sigel also shared the stage alongside their label boss. During the show nearly 1,000 unticketed fans tried to force their way into the sold-out arena by pushing over a fence and jumping turnstiles.

This was the year that headliner Jay addressed the up-and-coming rapper 50 Cent on the stage for the first time. 50 had recently name-dropped Hov on “How to Rob;” his debut single that detailed how he planned to rob numerous prominent figures in the R&B and hip-hop scene. Hov responded by debuting his track “It’s Hot (Some Like It Hot)” during his set, which included the witty lyric: “Go against Jigga yo ass is dense, I’m about a dollar—what the fuck is 50 Cents?”

During a Hot 97 radio interview with Angie Martinez in 2002, Jigga explained how he had spoken to 50 backstage before he spat the line: “[I told him] ‘Yo, I respect the record, yeah I liked that record, it was hot. But you know I gotta spank you dog!’ That was the conversation. [50 responded] ‘No doubt, do your thing!’ Then it was peace. History … What I respect though is that conversation. It was real.”

In an April 2003 interview for Rolling Stone, 50 told journalist Touré that “when he responded I was complimented,” 50 said. “He wouldn’t say nothing back to somebody he didn’t think was hot. I never went to radio until after he said that about me. I don’t know if my career would be where it’s at if he didn’t respond.” In June 2003 Hov and 50 would unite for a co-headlining “Roc The Mic Tour,” in support of their new Reebok endorsement deals.

Ten years after the “It’s Hot” performance, in September 2009 Hov referenced his “Summer Jam” prowess on The Blueprint 3′s “A Star is Born,” saying “50 came through like hurricanes do, I thought I’d finish his ass at Summer Jam too.”

Leave a comment